I Wrote A Song For You Expats

Dear expats,

These days I don’t write much on the blog.  I’ve been very engrossed in a musical project that I didn’t think you all would be much interested in.  It’s called Hunts Whales.  If you follow me on Twitter @duckbokey you may have heard some of my recordings.

Anyway, I wrote a song for you, actually.  Several years ago I wrote a song for all my Korean pals called Living In Korea.  It was about all the things that I think are good about Korea.  My new song is called Living Abroad.  You can hear it by clicking on it in the sidebar (sorry RSS feed readers, you’ll have to click through for it).

Here are the lyrics:

There’s a couple of blocks in downtown Hell they call Little Mortaltown
with a few small shops and businesses, they even have a Chinese restaurant now
and my school friend Dan, opened a store up there
business is good so he can’t complain but he’s losing all his hair
he sells newspapers, stationery, candy and gum
maxipads, canned goods, aspirin and some
of his customers are mortals but most of them are demon-kind
they come in reeking of rendered flesh, Dan has to act like he doesn’t mind (and he says)
Living abroad, has done irreparable harm to my soul
Living abroad, has done irreparable harm to my soul
I would go home, but I’m not the man they think they know
eternal misery ain’t a thing to me
oh who will mourn my soul
This one guy I used to be close to married a lion and moved away
we kind of lost touch because he moves so much but he’s somewhere on the plains
They live together, with her entire family
he really can’t complain about it though ’cause the rent is free
All day every day a young lion waits
to run him off and take his place
kill his children and sire pups by his wife
He’d like to move back to the States but now this is his life (but he told me)
Living abroad, has done irreparable harm to my soul
Living abroad, has done irreparable harm to my soul
I would go home, but I’m not the man they think they know
life and death struggle’s all that’s left of me
oh who will mourn my soul

~ by Joshing on May 20, 2010.

2 Responses to “I Wrote A Song For You Expats”

  1. maxipads, canned goods, aspirin and some
    of his customers are mortals but most of them are demon-kind
    they come in reeking of rendered flesh, Dan has to act like he doesn’t mind (and he says)

    This has to be my favourite line
    it rolls off the tongue very naturally

  2. […] Yes, I probably shouldn’t be in Korea anymore… as one guy in my city put it (in song), “Living abroad has done irreparable damage to my soul.” Well, if we had souls I’d put it that way. Anyway. The fact that Miss Jiwaku also makes a […]

Leave a comment