Cool Things Korean (part 8)

Without a doubt, among the most misunderstood cool things about Korea is the methods people use to create and cultivate interpersonal relationships.  Foreigners have been commenting on Korea’s orgiastic party scene for four hundred years, usually failing to find much fun in the rounds of drunken singing and silly dancing.  I will admit that it is tough to appreciate, especially when your first exposure to the custom is as an icebreaker or upon first meeting with Koreans.  What’s fun about making a willing fool of yourself in front of people you don’t know that well?

There was a time when I failed to find the coolness in this essential Korean activity, but I have a habit of trying to turn what I believe on its head, and this is no different.  Let me lay it out for you.  Meeting people is embarrassing.  If you try to hard to impress you come off looking like a jerk.  If you don’t try hard enough you fade into the background and wind up meeting no one.  This is an unavoidable state of humanity, and Koreans tend to be even less outgoing than your average human being.  At the same time, personal relationships are more important to Koreans than perhaps they are to you and me.  The solution that they’ve come up with is to institutionalize friendship.  This is achieved by one gallant moodmaker taking the initiative and playing the sometimes embarrassing role of the person who forces everyone to socialize. 

In a company this role is filled by the boss.  He forces his workers to drink and make merry, which they complain about all the way.  And while they keep telling each other they’d rather be at home with their families, that experience of shared suffering at the hands of their overzealous boss bonds them together.  I suspect that this crucial aspect of Korean social life is increasingly misunderstood by young Koreans themselves, who fail to grasp the crucial role that these drinking sessions once played.

That said, alcohol helps.  In fact, it’s fair to say that alcohol is absolutely essential to Korean society.  It is the social lubricant that keeps the well-oiled machine that is Korean social life chugging along.  But while alcohol is fine for lowering the inhibitions and bringing out one’s inner garrulous social butterfly, it still lacks cohesive power.  Get a room full of relative strangers drunk and you will find them clotted up into little bands, bonding with a small ‘b’ but not Bonding

Korea’s solution to this human foible is to make drinking a group activity, led by the boss or senior (upperclassman) or oldest member of the group.  But we’ve already established that group bonding activities are awkward and embarrassing, right?  Whereas Americans are too cool (read: uptight) to subject themselves to even temporary embarrassment, Korean culture mitigates the embarrassment by spreading it around evenly.  Why worry about having to sing in front of people you barely know when they have to sing in front of you.  It levels the playing field and allows everyone to let their freak flag fly, in a manner of speaking.  This is the reason that Koreans and people of Korean descent tend to love drinking games.  Eunice, a Korean-American friend of mine from Boston University once took control of a night of drinking and played that social master of ceremonies role with authoritarian relish.  At the time I complained ‘Why don’t we just drink and chat?’  But eight years later that night stands out like no one night of drinking and chatting does.

There are some common mistakes that foreigners tend to make when they are taken to the noraebang (song room) to sing karaoke.  First and foremost, they tend to sing songs that they like.  People don’t go to the noraebang to sing songs that they like.  Noted friend of the Joshing Gnome and the mastermind behind Litepost email Nathan Braun has introduced me to an amazing life mantra: ‘Good DJs don’t play the songs they like.  They play songs that everybody recognizes from high school.’  And Koreans go to the noraebang to sing songs that everybody knows.  The second mistake commonly made by foreigners is to try to be cool at the noraebang.  I would say this is one of the worst things you could do.  The noraebang is not for being cool.  If you want to be cool, do it on your own time.  The noraebang is for bonding, and that means making a fool of yourself.  Embrace it.  Don’t be cool: be fun.

I consider this a major weakness of the (American) culture in which I was raised.  People are encouraged to forge their own identity and avoid situations that undermine their carefully crafted images.  That means calcifying one’s identity relatively early, making mental lists of things that you do and things that you never do.  In Korea, the idea that someone would be too cool and reserved to sing karaoke or too macho to do a choreographed dance to the latest pop song in front of the whole school is sort of unthinkable.  You do what others are doing because it’s fun, and those are the events that memories are made of.

Most foreigners who experience Korean bonding pooh pooh it, but they fail to appreciate its power. Koreans regularly meet with their former coworkers, college friends, high school friends, and even middle school friends, maintaining these friendships for life, which is a lot better than anything I’ve ever seen back home.  Keep in mind that this includes not only one’s bosom chums and soulmates, but a large group of friends.  Think about it.

~ by Joshing on March 14, 2008.

11 Responses to “Cool Things Korean (part 8)”

  1. Hi,

    I hate to be so critical in my first ever comment on your blog, but I think you grossly exaggerate the positives of Korean institutionalized bonding and friendships.

    Certainly there ARE some positives, and your post is a healthy counterweight to the legions of expat blogs whining about their uncomfortable experiences in situations like this. But when you say the boss “forces his workers to drink and make merry” you don’t really explore that enough. “Forced,” for the sake of office politics and careers means precisely that, and in my own experience it means half-dead adults in the mornings, bitterly complaining about having to drink the night before when they want to be at home with their wives and kids. You say that the bonding from the shared suffering bonds them, but in my mind that doesn’t compensate for working some of the longest hours in the world but dozing for many of them, the constant cigarettes and instant coffee, the high rates of cancer and alcohol-related diseases and deaths, the 3차 or 4차round of prostitution for the men, the wives and kids that never see their husbands and fathers…and so on.

    But my biggest problem with what you wrote is the impression that all of this is so fundamental, almost timeless a part of Korean culture, although I admit that you don’t explicitly say that. But this institutionalized bonding you speak of is in fact firmly rooted in time and place, and changing more quickly than most people realize.

    To be specific, it’s predicated on the salaryman system – male-breadwinner, salary + benefits from one company, lifetime employment, and so on – and this is in turn requires wives to quit work after marriage or childbirth, and raise the children essentially single-handedly while work all day and drink all night. At those events, their would be young female and secretarial staff of course, but they tend to leave after 1차, or 2차, well before the career-advancing men. The odd childless, career-orientated woman does stay longer of course, but this can be very awkward for the men. Rather than bonding, it’s more about putting everyone in their place, especially women.

    I say it’s changing because in 1997 Korea had the highest number of salarymen in the world, far mroe than Japan with which the image is more commonly associated, but in the 11 years since it’s gone to having the highest number of irregular, no-benefit workers in the OECD. A huge, under-reported social, economic, and political shift. The chaebol, salaryman work ethos remains as an ideal, but the socioeconomic moment where that was the norm in Korea has well and truly passed. People are only attending now because having a liberal, open job market WITHOUT a welfare state to fall back on when unemployed means most Korean are literally scared as hell of losing their jobs. THAT’s why people are still agreeing to go drinking.

    Even if you disagree with some or all of the above, Korea has the lowest fertility rate in the world, 1.25 children per women…drinking after work is not exactly compatible with family life. Most women aren’t prepared to give up their careers now – actually, they can’t given the above – and so they’re doing the smart thing with workplace culture like this and refusing to have children. Korea is soon going to run out of workers, fast, and rather than remaining a fundamental part of Korean working life, companies will be the first Korean organizations to discourage what you describe.

    Sorry for the rant, but you touched a nerve, as about a third of my own blog is devoted to these issues you see.

    I actually like and agree with 99% of what you write on your blog, and hope to leave more postivie comments soon. In the meantime though, may I offer some advice? In this post again, you say, for instance, that “personal relationships are more important to Koreans than perhaps they are to you and me” and “Koreans regularly meet with their former coworkers, college friends, high school friends, and even middle school friends, maintaining these friendships for life, which is a lot better than anything I’ve ever seen back home.” You’re entitled to your opinions of course, but my advice is that lines like that really put off many readers, as they make you sound almost, well, sycophantic. By saying it, you imply that my personal relationships are not important, and that I don’t bother to maintain friendships. Koreans do so better than me, have more 정…simply because they are Korean?!

    I hope that wasn’t rude, but can you see how that would put me off reading more? If that had been the first post I’d ever read of yours, I’m not sure I would have visited again to be honest. But I already knew that all your other stuff was very good, so I did.

    Sorry again for the long rant, but it’s just so good to find a fellow blogger who doesn’t whine about Korea and seems to spend more than a few moments to actually think about things in Korea before complaining about them!

    James.

    • You need to stop falsely apologizing in every other paragraph, especially because you are not (apologizing). The only reason any of this sounds rude is because you present it as offense, rather than constructive criticism. If you are honest, what do you have to apologize for? Scientists, scholars and critics don’t apologize, they argue in pithy, good faith.

  2. Nice post. I appreciate the part about the noraebang in particular. I have hated going to the noraebang with our grandmasters in the past. I’m going to try to chillax next time and sing an American song that everybody knows instead of “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” in broken falsetto.

  3. Hi there. Thanks for your views here: it’s an interesting take on the institutionalized drinking silliness that happens here in Korea that I haven’t heard before, and certainly not from a non-Korean.

    I often say that if I could magically change things about Korea, the first would be to magically teach every Korean an inherent understanding of the law of diminishing returns (this would revolutionize salaryperson-60h/week culture, as well as study culture), next I’d separate drinking culture from working culture (because it institutionalizes the exclusion of women, damages families when taken too far, and creates cronyism where the strongest drinkers advance above the lightweight drinkers that might be more efficient workers, to say nothing of the productivity lost to hangovers) and third I’d increase accountability for drunken behaviour, so that “I was drunk” is no longer a get out of jail free card…and I’m never sure where to draw the line between saying “maybe I’m just projecting my cultural values” and “this is an international embarrassment”.

    I like your take on the way social drinking builds bonds — especially the point of spreading embarrassment and awkwardness around evenly, which is a great way to look at things.

    I also totally agree that the imperative to “look cool” (whatever that means) hinders many north-americans (can’t speak for other groups) from actually having fun in Korean social situations; combine that with our expectation to be able to leave whenever we want (which doesn’t work here: if one person leaves, the whole group disintegrates), and our dislike for following orders during social time (“You! Drink!”) and no wonder some Koreans think we non-Koreans have no jung.

  4. James,
    Thanks for your comment. I have enjoyed your blog for a long time now and completely agree with 99% of what you’ve written here. Allow me to explain the circumstances behind this post. I have recently started grad school here in Korea, and I have had my fair chance to take part in parties and bonding exercises like Membership Training (MT). The key points of the post, the things that I identified as ‘cool things Korean’ are all present: someone taking on the role of MC, the encouragement to mingle and to chat in larger groups, the targeted self-effacement of singing for each other. My noraebang advice came from the fact that the Koreans at the event sang songs written in all likelihood before they were born because they were universally known, and one clever American did the same (singing a well-known Duran Duran song) to great effect. There was little drunkenness and much very effective getting to know one another. I would consider this to be the essence of what is good about the Korean way of socializing. All of the ills, the excesses, and the putting people in their place that you mention are, in my eyes, transient, and will fade with time as social mores change. The basic form of socializing, which I think is strong, will endure.
    As for your comments that my unfavorable comparison of Korean social networking methods to their American counterparts are ‘sycophantic’, I must say that does hurt. It seems as though, for all the honest appraisal of Korea, both good and bad, that I do I should be given the courtesy of not being branded with such an ugly word.
    I will give you an example from my own life that informed my appraisal. When I was a freshman in college, there were plenty of activities, including the water gun assassin game, various outings and group charity activities, that I chose not to participate in because I thought I was too cool for it. I wound up missing out on a great experience that friends of mine still harbor fond memories of to this day because I couldn’t bear the heat of a few moments of awkwardness. If it had been deemed mandatory and one person had taken the initiative to be ‘that guy’ and encouraged socialization at the risk of coming off like a loser or someone who’s ‘trying too hard’ then I might have been there and had a great time and made a lot of friends.

    Robo:
    You put it better than I could. A Korean mode of socializing separated from drinking and its related ills would be, to me, a perfect system.

  5. Joe,

    thanks for your reply. With the proviso that I wrote that at 2am(!), and really should have restrained myself until the morning, I think that there’s been some misunderstanding about what I meant when I described some of what you said as “almost sycophantic,” because I’d hate to cause offence when none was intended.

    I was referring specifically to two things you said: first, that “personal relationships are more important to Koreans than perhaps they are to you and me,” and then later that “Koreans regularly meet with their former coworkers, college friends, high school friends, and even middle school friends, maintaining these friendships for life, which is a lot better than anything I’ve ever seen back home.” I can understand why you would make such statements, we’ve both been here a long time after all, but reading those anywhere would still put me off reading further, for two reasons.

    Firstly, because they can’t really be disproved or proved (what does “important” mean? How on Earth are Koreans’ personal relationships more important to them then mine are to me? How would you know?) and are more statements of one’s values than are real factual statements about differences – for instance, I don’t regard annual meetings of ex-coworkers, high-school classmates and so on in VIPS for the sake of networking as maintaining “friendships,” and somehow better or even different to old boy’s clubs and networking back home. Certainly more institutionalized like you say, I agree, and if you regard those as friendships and “better” than what you’ve seen back home then you’re entitled to. But I don’t, and unless someone has evidence for something as vaguely defined as “friendships” being equally vaguely defined “better” in one country than in an other, then it really really puts me off. I’m just supposed to accept my inferiority and that of my Western culture as a given?

    I really did mean that as advice, because you made some excellent points, and a balance is very much needed to all the blogs that do nothing but complain about Korea. But like I said, if I didn’t already know how good your blog was, statements like those above would have meant I’d never have returned.

    Which brings me to the second reason: the kind of places I’ve read things like that. There are, of course, many English-language books by Koreans that effectively just say “This is Korean Culture, this is American culture…Korean culture is better” and then just move on. Those are bad enough. But a few months ago I’d unwisely bought “What’s So Good About Korea, Maarten?” by Maarten Meijer (review in the link below) and that’s basically ALL his book is. Every page is gushing with unadulterated praise for Korea, criticism of Western countries, criticism of Westerners who criticize Korea…never with any evidence. In short, it is extremely sycophantic, with the express purpose of selling as many copies as possible (there is a Korean edition) to the all-too many Koreans who simply love praise from a foreigner.

    YOUR blog ISN’T like that, but you have to admit, that what he says on page 2, for instance: “Korean people are generally warm-hearted, whereas northern Europeans, for instance, generally are not” and then on page 4 “One of the great strengths of Koreans is the depth of their hearts. I believe they have an emotional capacity beyond that of most ordinary Americans or Europeans–at least the ones I know” are VERY similar at first glance to the statements of yours I discuss, so you can understand why if I thought him sycophantic, then I would describe you as at least, at first glance, SOUNDING almost the same? HE never backs up what he says, and so the book is only good for toilet paper in my opinion. YOU do back what you say up, and your stuff is well worth reading, but I can’t help thinking that statements like that seriously detract from your otherwise very valid arguments.

    Which is why I wrote that first comment with the nicest of intentions! Again, sorry if I caused any offense.

    James.

    http://www.kingbaeksu.com/bbs/view.php?id=bug&page=13&sn1=&divpage=1&sn=off&ss=on&sc=on&select_arrange=headnum&desc=asc&no=128

  6. James,
    Rest assured your point is well taken. What I meant and assumed was understood when I wrote ‘personal relationships are more important to Koreans than perhaps they are to you and me’ is that Koreans maintain their old relationships with more care than do the people I grew up with (implying a relatively greater importance to them). As I’ve said, I agree with your point with the exception of your dim view of ‘annual meetings of ex-coworkers, high-school classmates and so on in VIPS for the sake of networking as maintaining “friendships,”’ which you took to mean that I thought were ‘somehow better or even different to old boy’s clubs and networking back home’.
    Rest assured that I don’t think they are any better or different from old boys’ clubs and networking back home. I think they’re both fine, exclusive from their potential for collusive and corrupting influence on society. I tend to take the broad view of friendship, including those with whom we’ve shared experiences regardless of our absolute closeness. People have a certain capacity for cronyism and corruption, which an active social life may raise one’s likelihood of indulging. That said, I never endorsed cronyism. One can have genuine admiration for something even if it does have potential negative side effects.
    People do tend to socialize, being a social animal. At the same time, people are inherently lazy animals, which means that they let things like keeping up with old friends fall by the wayside if left to their own devices. The Korean way takes a lot of the onus of being the friend who keeps in touch off the individual and places it with the entire group or a single diligent person who keeps the group together.
    I completely understand your reservations about this kind of ‘Korea is better than the US in X regard’ thinking, and share your disgust at the smoke blowing foreigners who earn their daily bread being endlessly fascinated by the wonder of the place, but the whole idea behind cool things Korean is that it’s supposed to be a venue for me to express genuine admiration for a country that I spend a good portion of the time complaining about. There are a couple of things that I believe Korea has to teach us, meaning my people back home. Most of the time I think those things need a good washing up, taking, for example, Korea’s booze and whore-permeated social practices and winnowing them down to their positive essence. While you do a great job of pointing out everything that is quite wrong with these things, I think it’s important to attempt to find what right there is wrapped up in them.

    P.S. Yes, I do dare use the words ‘right’ and ‘wrong’ when speaking about culture. I’m like an anthropological Rational Humanist: I don’t believe in objective morality, but I think it’s best to act as though it did exist.

  7. […] and I’ve been on a bit of a roll critiquing many in the Korean blogosphere recently, both positive and negative (see here and here). Still, that’s not to say that they’re always wrong, […]

  8. […] Ultimately, Japanese people’s and Koreans’ love affair with karaoke is much less tied to supposedly eternal, unchanging elements of the culture of either country, but more to specific workplace practices that are under threat in both countries (see this recent sexual harrassment case, and what I write here, here and here too). Because of this, although “salaryman karaoke” is still an integral part of life in this part of the world, I think we may well have already witnessed its heyday, and not before time too. […]

  9. […] A nice summary of a typical 회식 can be found here. But don’t take my word for it: here’s another first-hand rundown. And for good measure, here’s another. Just for you. […]

  10. […] Guides, Hotel …Abandoned Amusement Park, North Korea – Cool Things In Random PlacesCool Things Korean (part « The Joshing GnomeWhat cool stuff does Korea have? – Yahoo! UK & Ireland […]

Leave a comment