Catching Up With A Couple Of Old Friends

Actually, two of my favorite albums of all time.

I’m taking two weeks off from CPA study to wrap up the semester over at Yonsei.  This means I can listen to music while I study (yeah, I know what that implies about by course of study.  I implied it.)  I’ve been drawn by a mysterious force to dive back into two albums that I sort of view as a set, The Flaming Lips’ Transmissions from the Satellite Heart and Clouds Taste Metallic.

I encourage you to get into these landmark albums with me.  Make a week of it that you’ll never forget.

Psychedelic, folk-y, rockin’, sorta kidsy, and nearly any stupid adjective you’d care to throw at these albums stick like glue.  The imagery is alternately sweet and disturbing.

Oh, and their song ‘When you smile’ is the only song ever directly referenced by Hunts Whales.  So let that be your guide to how fundamental I find these guys.

~ by Joe on November 23, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
