I Need Your Help!

Bucheon’s only comedy club, 쳐클즈, recently announced that they will be holding an open mic night every Thursday.  My therapist, Eliot Kim, who practices out of that 18-story night club/wedding hall/medical park next to Bucheon station, has suggested that I might benefit by exorcising some of my demons through public performance.

Now here’s my problem.  The first thing I did was come up with a a dynomite name for my character,just as it recommends in Tommy Chong’s classic 1987 book How to Succeed in Stand-Up Comedy. Unfortunately I am stuck at that stage, and can’t seem to think of any funny traits, catchphrases or actions (Chong’s step 2) to ‘flesh the comedic exoskeleton that is your character’s name’, in Chong’s words.

So here’s my question:  What’s funny about a character named Woody Aslan?

~ by Joshing on September 13, 2008.

One Response to “I Need Your Help!”

  1. I used to work at a bar where me and the other bartender would choose some guy at random and then make up an entire back story for him. Not all of them were funny.

    I think maybe Woody Aslan isn’t very funny either. He’s a brother-in-law type. He isn’t married, he just seems like the kind of guy who settles into marriage and becomes a couch potato. He’s done all of that except the getting married part. He’s a salesman at a sporting goods shop and isn’t very good at it. He wishes he was good with engines so he could be a mechanic, whom he imagines “get the babes”. He watches Friends every night, but doesn’t particularly like it. The funniest thing about him is when he pushes the front of his hair up and does Ross imitations.

    You might want to think up lots of characters and find out which of them is funniest.

Leave a Reply

 
