The Joshing Dad

I am proud to announce that my wife Miyoung and I are expecting our first child.  This begins the quest for a pair of acceptable names, among many other things.

Actually, my pineapple throwing fit a couple of weeks ago was a direct result of the life changing development.  I haven’t quite been myself since, or perhaps I’ve been more myself than ever before, depending on what semester in college you are.  Miyoung and I couldn’t be happier.

The implications are many.  Our friends David and Mishim are having their first child as well.  The day after Miyoung took the pregnancy test she said to me ‘David and Mishim are going to get dual citizenship for their baby.’  Then we simultaneously said ‘I don’t want to do that.’

A few days later while drinking with family my mother-in-law asked me what we would do about citizenship and the answer came out of a place deep in my buzzed subconscious. ‘Our child would be just as American as anyone, maybe more American than most.  But our child would never be anything but a second-class Korean.’

Everyone at the table nodded in agreement.  My mother-in-law said ‘But things are changing.’

‘Too true, they are changing for the better, but I’m afraid they just won’t change fast enough for this baby.’  More nods.

So congratulate me and wish me luck.  For whatever reason, doing something that any shmoe off the street can do has made me prouder than anything I’ve ever done.

~ by Joshing on June 9, 2008.

15 Responses to “The Joshing Dad”

  1. Sir Congrats. I wish you all of the best.

  2. A bazillion congratulations. I became an uncle twice over this last year, and every time I’ve seen someone close to me have a child, it’s made them into a totally different person, all in good ways.

    Congratulations many times over. to you and your family.

  3. Good work, sir!

    So are you saying your child will have Korean citizenship only? I didn’t quite understand what you were saying.

  4. Hey Joe,
    Congrats!!! I know you and your wife are on cloud nine! Good work and I wish you two the best.

  5. Jeff,
    Actually our kid’s going to have American citizenship only.

  6. […] The Joshing Gnome is expecting. […]

  7. Congratulations!

  8. Speaking of names, I have always been partial to the name Francois. There don’t seem to be enough of them going around Korea and I suspect it is not that common in the US either

  9. Congratulations!

  10. Congratulations

  11. congrats, to you and Miyoung!

  12. congrats, to you, and Miyoung, and baby!

  13. Great news! Will you find out if it’s a boy or a girl? It helps with the name selection.

  14. My loudest congratulations to you and Miyoung!

    (And I hear you about the citizenship. Whatever disagreements we have about where we should live, we agree on the point you raised.)

  15. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

 
