NY Times on Gireogi Appa

Norimitsu Onishi has an article in the Times about Korean father’s staying in Korea while their children (and sometimes wives) live abroad for their children’s education, so-called ‘wild geese dads’ or gireogi appa (멍청한 아빠).

Just so’s you know, I think this is both one of the worst things that you can do and one of the best things that can happen to Korea, as the country clearly needs a huge influx of half-Western educated, poorly acculturated, screwed-up kids with bad attitudes and daddy issues who can speak English.

~ by Joshing on June 8, 2008.

6 Responses to “NY Times on Gireogi Appa”

  1. I don’t “get” the full extent of your sarcasm here, Joe… Can you please flesh this out a little more clearly for lil old me? I think your audience might actually appreciate a fuller expounding on your thoughts here, which may be (more or less) self-evident to you, but not quite as much to thee rest of us…

    BTW for another interesting (if equally obscure ) perspective on absentee parenting (which you know I’m a potentially huge fan of…) check out HORTON HEARS A WHO…

  2. Nate:
    Let me leave my post open to interpretation. I think that the whole phenomenon is bad for families and not as good for children’s futures as their parents are med to believe. I do think, however, that the large-scale influx of direct foreign influence is likely to be good for Korea in the long run, regardless of the long-term negative effects it has on the vessels of said influence.
    Oops, my post is no longer open to interpretation.

  3. I’m telling you, my theory along with many others is that if they don’t get some foreigners into Korea soon and in great numbers, their faltering birth rate will make them even less relevant in the future

  4. […] NY Times on Gireogi Appa (Joshing Gnome) […]

  5. gireogi appa = “기러기 아빠” = goose dad

    멍청한 아빠 = “stupid dad” Is that a real term or an intentional error?

  6. That is a real term that I use to describe such fathers.

Leave a Reply

 
