I Hope You’re Watching Battlestar Galactica

Because it is so very good.  There’s not much else to say, except that the fourth season episode ‘Escape Velocity’ has to be one of the best episodes ever.

There are those who wonder whether the show’s budget got cut because the latest episodes are extremely talky and light on the space opera.  I rather think that Ron Moore, faced with the last season of his show, is leaning heavy towards the true strong point of the show, its actors and writing.  There were things in this episode that had me gasping at their genius.  When the show is over I have no doubt it will go down as one of the greatest television series of all time.  I have dreams of some day locking my kids in the family room with the complete series and not letting them out until they’ve watched straight through.

Update: I kind of suspected it, but the episode was written by master writer and blogger Jane Espenson. Read about part of the process of writing the episode and how even she can’t resist calling it brilliant.

~ by Joshing on May 12, 2008.

3 Responses to “I Hope You’re Watching Battlestar Galactica”

  1. I finally caught up and then promptly forgot to Tivo the last two episodes so I’m behind again.

  2. Totally watching. Also listening to Galactica Watercooler podcast each week. Significant Other has recently gotten into it, so I’m also rewatching the second season.

  3. I do like BG and even more because of that I hate all this small mistakes that they are making. How space ship with fuel leak could get into planet atmosphere and landed safely? There is more and those (small) things make me so upset…

Leave a Reply

 
