Vonnegut’s Essential Mission as an Artist

was ‘to arouse mercy in his readers’, according to this interesting article in Salon.  I hadn’t really thought of it like that, but I think that must indeed be true.  Not only that, but I would say that in that respect Vonnegut remains a major influence on me, to the point where I would just replace Vonnegut’s ‘mercy’ with my own ’empathy’, in the belief that empathy begets merciful action.

Anyway, go read the piece if you’re interested in Vonnegut and the extent to which the fire-bombing of Dresden colored his writing.

~ by Joshing on April 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
