This is not a Facetious Question

What could Garrison Keillor ever talk about that would not make his audience laugh?

I am haunted by this thought when I listen to him.  No matter what he talks about, his audience is right there with him.  He’s a guru of mild chuckling.  I’m not at all implying that he’s not funny.  I often laugh out loud at him, and I think he’s a keen observer of human nature.  I would just love to see how far he could go.  I actually think he does this consciously some times.  “Can I get these people to laugh at a twenty minute bathroom joke?  What if I mention Lutheranism?”

The answer is ‘yes, Gary.  They will follow you to the ends of the Earth.’

~ by Joe on February 22, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
