Word of the day: Teratoma

A teratoma is a kind of tumor.  You can stop reading there if you don’t care to think about tumors.  If you are quite interested in reading about tumors, you can click here to see the google image search results for teratoma.

Essentially, a teratoma is a tumor made up of different types of tissue.  Think an amorphous blob of human hair, teeth, organs (although complex organs like eyes and body parts are rare).


Not a teratoma.

Teratoma are thought to be present at birth but typically go undiagnosed for years.


Not a teratoma.

Teratomas are not especially rare.  There are as many as 10,000 diagnoses of teratoma per year.


Not a teratoma.

Teratoma are sometimes considered parasitic twins, and some have been reported to contain beating hearts.


Not a teratoma. A teratoma cozy.
~ by Joe on December 22, 2007.

11 Responses to “Word of the day: Teratoma”

  1. I actually heard of this tumor on a movie called Breaking all the Rules with Jamie Foxx. I was so fascinated I have decided to do a project on the subject.

  2. Found your blog because I happened to google image search “teratoma” and wondered why spiky red things on a plate showed up.

    I suspect this is also what Aunt Voula is referring to in My Big Fat Greek Wedding when she explains that the results of a “bibopsy” showed that “Yes. Inside the lump was my twin.”

  3. I am actually obsessed with teratomas, so much that I named by blog after them. I too got into them after watching “Big Fat Greek Wedding”. Hope you have a great time in Korea.

  4. For a minute there I thought those furry fruit things were the strangest-looking teratoma I’d ever seen. Thank you for momentarily distracting me from studying for exams, it’s always nice!

  5. Wow! I just looked up teratomas because i was watching discovery health and there was a seven year old who had a thing removed from his stomach and it had long, black hair, and its skin was grayish-blue. it looked dead, and it was really creepy and kind of sad.

  6. I wandered in because I was looking up teratomas on Google. I was looking them up because I saw this song in a newsgroup with teratoma in it’s title. It’s death metal and they always try to outdo each other with the sickest song names and band names. Very funny to browse them. The file was called “Malignancy – Inhuman Grotesqueries (2007) – [20/26] – “Malignancy – Inhuman Grotesqueries – 07 – Embryological Teratomas.flac” yEnc”

    I bet it’s a toe tapper! LOL

  7. God, if this ever happens to me I might commit suicide.

  8. This is a great post. You are a very funny person, and i agree. I might commit suicide, as well, if I were to have a teratoma.

  9. rambutans are tasty

  10. Try 3single (dot) com. There you can talk to amateur grils who look like your neighbor. Have fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
